-->

Friday, May 19, 2017

The Evaporation of Sofi Snow (GIVEAWAY) - Mary Weber

Welcome to the: Thomas Nelson's Young Adult Summer of 2017 Feature with

 

About the Book


Title:  The Evaporation of Sofi Snow
Series: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow, Book 1
Author:  Mary Weber
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Release Date:  June 6, 2017
Genre: Young Adult Fiction / Sci-Fi

For fans of Ender’s Game and Blade Runner comes a story of video gaming, blood, and power.

Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth’s Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi’s the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she’s convinced he’s been taken to the ice-planet.

Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.

For Miguel—Earth’s charming young playboy—the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight’s bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he’s a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford.

From the award-winning author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, step into a diverse cast of characters spanning from the electric metropolises of earth to the chilling alien planet above, in a story of re-finding yourself in the midst of losing the one thing you love. Before it all evaporates.

My Thoughts
Talk about a book hangover! I have spent the last few days trying to sort through all the emotions and feelings this book evoked in me. 

Sofi Snow is a young woman with a lot of confusion about her self worth. She has had her fair share of rejection in life. Miguel had been satisfied with his life...that is until he met Sofi. As their lives get thrown into a web of lies, deceit, blackmail, and hidden agendas. Will Sofi and Miguel be able to push their past aside and work together for the future of Earth and all of its inhabitants? 

There is SO MUCH that happens in this book. It started off fast paced and ended with a major cliff hanger in the middle of a VERY INTENSE scene. (We do get a little breather from all the action in the middle of the book.) Between Sofi's struggle to find herself, Miguel's determination to be a "new man", and the whole mess with Shiloh...My brain was on overload. There were a few aspects to the story that still sit uneasy with me regarding Sofi and Miguel's past. I do think the situation calls for the background our characters have and I am curious to see how Mary Weber addresses this and where she takes them in the next book. 

One of the main themes in this story is Human Trafficking. I commend Mary for addressing the very real and very serious issue that has been swept under the rug for too long. To hear her heart, you will want to read this book! I look forward to reading more from Mary and finding out how Sofi's story ends.

I received a complimentary copy of The Evaporation of Sofi Snow from Thomas Nelson through NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are mine alone.
The copy of the book I read is an ARC. All quotes taken from this edition, not the final copy.
Thank you to Just Commonly for hosting this fabulous Blog Tour!

About the Author

Mary Weber is a ridiculously uncoordinated girl plotting to take over make-believe worlds through books, handstands, and imaginary throwing knives. In her spare time, she feeds unicorns, sings 80’s hairband songs to her three muggle children, and ogles her husband who looks strikingly like Wolverine. They live in California, which is perfect for stalking L.A. bands, Joss Whedon, and the ocean.




Tour Schedule

5/15 - Reading is My SuperPower (review)
5/16 - Thorn & Vine (review) & A Baker's Perspective (review)
5/18 - Bibliophile Reviews (Review),  Singing Librarian Books (Spotlight) & Thinking Thoughts (Spotlight)
5/19 - Bookworm Mama (review) & YA Book Divas (Spotlight & Excerpt)
5/20 - Just Commonly (review)


Giveaway

(3) Winners will each win a finished hard copy of The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber, courtesy of Thomas Nelson Publishers. Giveaway ends on May 26, 2017, 11:59 PM EST.

10 comments:

  1. I have heard so many awesome things about this story! I am curious as to what from her past made you feel uneasy, but it sounds a fast-paced read with some topics that are important.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The long and short of it would be her "love" life. Not descriptive details or anything. But, Sofi is known to be "wild and free" and it was just kind of brushed over in this book, like it was no big deal. However, I have since learned that this will be addressed in book 2. I hope that makes sense! Trying to keep it spoiler free lol! And it is a good one! Looking forward to the next one!

      Delete
    2. Totally agree on this point. So no worries, Laura, it will be addressed come book 2, but the question is, HOW FAST can book 2 come?

      Delete
    3. My thoughts exactly Annie!

      Delete
  2. This book sounds so amazing! ANd that cover looks gorgeous

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks Rachel for being a part of the tour! I know Mary (the author), the publisher and I all appreciate it!! =)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh my pleasure! Super excited to be a part!

      Delete
  4. Thanks for the new insight into this book. I'm looking forward to reading how this author deals with such difficult issues. Book hangovers are few between for me lately so this sounds excellent.

    ReplyDelete

What are your thoughts?