Never Forget - Beacons of Hope Book 5 - Jody Hedlund - Celebrate Lit Blog Tour

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Click here to purchase your copy.

My Rating
★★★★★ - You have bewitched me, body and soul. (More Info)

About the Book
Book: Never Forget
Author: Jody Hedlund  
Genre: Historical Romance  
Release Date: January 4, 2017  

Rose Island Lighthouse, Rhode Island  

June 1880  

Will she betray his trust to stay on the island she loves?

Abbie Wilson is content to spend her days clamming, crabbing, and tending Rose Island Lighthouse. Her grandpa is the head light keeper, but his senility may lead to their eviction. Since leaving the island would kill her beloved Gramps, Abbie will do anything to keep him in the one place he knows and loves.

Wealthy Nathaniel Winthrop III’s wild living has gained him a reputation as the ‘bad boy’ among the elite social circles of Newport. After a blow to the head in a yachting accident washes him up on Rose Island, Nathaniel has no memories of his past.

Abbie tends the wounded stranger in her home only to realize he assumes they’re married. Although she knows she needs to correct Nathaniel’s mistake, his presence calms Gramps and provides a way to prevent eviction from the lighthouse.

The longer the charade continues, the harder it gets for Abbie to tell Nathaniel the truth, more so as she begins to fall in love. Everyone she’s ever loved has abandoned her. Will Nathaniel leave her too, once he discovers he’s not really her husband?

My Thoughts
Every time I crack open the pages of one of Jody's books I am left in awe. Her books consistently posses quality story and the characters reach out and grab my heart and emotions.  

Abbie and Nathaniel's story will take you on the emotional ride of a lifetime. There were so many possible outcomes that I was furiously reading the last few chapters to see what happened. No matter the ending, the message of the story shines brightly and is unavoidable; In Christ, we CAN become new. His love and forgiveness can wipe away the past and we can start fresh. However, it is so much harder to turn away from the past under our own strength. That being said...No, I am not telling you how the book ends. I will tell you I screamed aloud several times, laughed, cried, and giggled like a schoolgirl before I finished.

One thing that I simply adore about Jody Hedlund, (I am sure I have said this before) is that she doesn't shy away from the truth. The Bible, Christ, faith, conviction, and redemption are all strong aspects of her writing. Her words move me and touch my heart in such a precious and powerful way. Even her "Author's Note" contains the power of Christ. 

"He is always there offering you His hope, love, and forgiveness. Please, never forget all that He offers." - Jody Hedlund
Beacons of Hope has earned a position as one of my forever favorites. I am so sad to see its conclusion, yet Never Forget brings the series to a satisfying end. Following the Cross of Hope we discover so many lighthouses and learn about the REAL women who worked them. The journey has been rewarding, educational, and inspirational. I HIGHLY recommend these books! Each of the books can stand alone, however, reading them from the beginning will give you the full experience. When all is said and done, I pray that the message of HOPE speaks to your heart as it did to mine.

I received a complimentary copy of Never Forget. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are mine alone.

About the Author

Winner of the 2016 Christian Book Award and Christy Award, best-selling author Jody Hedlund writes inspirational historical romances for both youth and adults.

Jody lives in central Michigan with her husband, five busy children, and five spoiled cats. Although Jody prefers to experience daring and dangerous adventures through her characters rather than in real life, she’s learned that a calm existence is simply not meant to be (at least in this phase of her life!).

When she’s not penning another of her page-turning stories, she loves to spend her time reading, especially when it also involves consuming coffee and chocolate.

Guest Post from Jody Hedlund

Which Do You Prefer: Series or Standalones?
By Jody Hedlund

Readers usually have strong opinions about whether they like series or standalones. 

Some readers refuse to read books that are inter-related. Others can’t get enough books about their favorite characters. 

I see the pros and cons of both. 

For series, I don’t like feeling lost as I try to wade through previous characters along with their backstory. I recently started a series by a well-known author and was disappointed to realize the first book was connected to a previous series she’d already published. From the get-go, I felt left out as though I didn’t quite know who all the characters were or their significance.
On the other hand, for standalones, I sometimes feel as though I would like the story to continue. I’ve invested in the setting and characters and so enjoy when I can return to that place and continue to glimpse the characters I’ve fallen in love with—even if from a distance.

My favorites are books that fall in the middle between standalone and series. I like to think of them as standalones within a series. Becky Wade’s Porter brother series is like that. Each of the books centers around one of the brothers (and a tomboy sister). While characters from other books make an appearance in the stories, each plot is separate and complete without any reliance upon another book.

My Beacons of Hope lighthouse series falls in the middle too. The books are related in that they all take place at lighthouses and share a symbolic “cross of hope” that is passed on from one book to the next. A minor character in a previous book becomes the hero or heroine in the next book. But each book can be read by itself without having read any of the others.

In other words, readers can pick up my newest release, Never Forget, which is the fifth and final book in the series, and they wouldn’t be confused about who the characters are or what their history is. The plot starts with a bang and ends with a satisfying sigh. It is complete story unto itself. 

And yet, for those who’ve read other books in the series, they’ll get to see the happily-ever-after of a character from a previous book. And they’ll also get to find out where the cross of hope finally ends.

If you’re not a fan of series, I encourage you to give the Beacons of Hope series a try. It might satisfy the need for standalones and series all in one neat little package.

To that end, I’m giving away all FIVE books in the series as part of the Celebrate Lit blog tour to one lucky winner!

Tell us: What is your preference: Standalones, Series, or Standalones within a Series?

Blog Stops

January 10: Karen Sue Hadley

January 10: Bookworm Mama

January 11: Faithfully Bookish

January 11: Inklings and Notions

January 12: Smiling Book Reviews

January 12: Genesis 5020

January 13: The Scribbler

January 13: Bibliophile Reviews

January 14: Daysong Reflection

January 14: Blogging With Carol

January 15: Moments Dipped in Ink

January 16: A Greater Yes

January 16: Bigreadersite

January 17: D’S QUILTS & BOOKS

January 18: Book by Book

January 18: Jeanette’s Thoughts

January 19: Carpe Diem

January 19: A Bakers Perspective

January 19: Splashes of Joy

January 20: Christian Bookaholic

January 20: Stuff and Nonsense

January 21: Radiant Light

January 21: cherylbbookblog

January 22: Neverending Stories

January 22: A Path of Joy

January 23: Henry Happens

January 23: Onceuponatime


To celebrate her tour, Jody is giving away the entire Beacons of Hope series. Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries!

Powered by Blogger.
Theme Designed By Hello Manhattan

Your copyright

© Bookworm Mama 2023